Tiffanie Luster | Photographer

Ramblings of an Wife. Mom. Photographer. Artist. Creator. Designer.

My home to ramble and share the things I love.

The Website + App you NEED if you like books

48a887af4c4d83f342dc25051c697244.jpg

I LOVE to read. Scratch that; I devour books. I used to go to the library every 2 weeks and check out about 8 books every time. It got so bad that I would forget that I read a book and start reading it again thinking, “gee, this sounds familiar. Did I already read this?” Yes, I had.

Not only do I love to read but I love the smell of books in a library or bookstore and brand new, never opened textbooks. <sigh> I also love the way it feels to have a library book in your hand. The protective cover on a hardback book makes a comforting “thump” sound when you drum your fingers on it or place it on a table.  

THE BORROWER

I usually read in bed at night as a way to relax but I’ve stopped doing that because we co-sleep so my little ones are in the bed with us. I can’t keep the light on or they’ll be AWAKE. So I usually read on my iPad or on my phone using the app “Overdrive”. I use Overdrive because it connects to your local library so I can borrow books from the library. You will need a library card to borrow from a particular library.  It doesn't matter that I have cards for libraries that aren't near me because I don't have to physically return anything (all done on my phone/computer/tablet). I have two cards for libraries that are 45 minutes from my house. I had to get the card in person but that was it. 

Once I'm set up then I'm able to read the books on my phone, tablet or computer. Another benefit to reading on your tablet or phone is that you don’t get people asking what your book is or what it’s about. I have a hard time explaining a series when I’m on book 7 of said series. There’s a lot of backstory, yo.

THE TRACKER

I use Overdrive (app and computer) in conjunction with a website called goodreads.com.  Goodreads allows you to keep track of the books you’ve read and want to read. You can also “follow” your friends and see what they are reading. Not only will you see what they’ve read but you can see if you’ve read the same things and how you each rated it.

This is great if you have a similar tastes and want new ideas. It’s a bibliophile's dream. I can go down so many rabbit holes with lists, genres, following authors and see what they read. Bonus: I can view all the books in a series and it shows where each book title lies in that series. I hate reading book two in a series when I thought it was the first one. 

My process usually goes like this:

  1. Find books I want to read

  2. See if library has them on Overdrive. Add to waitlist or checkout.

  3. Finish book and mark as read.

  4. I usually take some time to find new books by following friends and authors. As I add to my “to-read” list then I add them to my overdrive wait list through my library.

 GOALS

With Goodreads, I'm able to keep track of my reading goal for the year.  It helps me stay on track with my goal and I keep track of all the books I've read. This year, I wanted to read 30 books in 2017. So far, I’ve read 14  and have 2 to read on Overdrive.

 I love using the two together because I can keep track and find books while reading them ANYWHERE.  

Follow me on goodreads.com and let’s see what books we have in common.